Want to go sailing?


Do you want to join the adventure?


I want to share this adventure and would like people to join me sailing. It could be for a day, a few days, a week or longer.

Personality is far more important than experience, you can learn to sail, it is far more difficult to learn to get along with somebody in a cramped space.

You will need to contribute £15 per night toward food and day to day costs or £30 if we stop at a marina. I prefer anchoring but marina stops are needed if there are no suitable anchorages, to shelter from storms, or we need to resupply. You will also need to cover your own travel costs to get to and from the boat. Disclaimer: you are not hiring me or the boat and there is no contract or rental agreement between us. The money is solely a contribution towards living expenses.

Sailing experience is useful but not required but you must be reasonably agile, fit and healthy. If you want to join me for passages of more than a week, it’s best to have done a shorter trip first to make sure we all get along. I can provide life jackets but you need to provide your own warm clothing, wash kit and wet weather protection. I have sleeping bags but please bring your own liner or your own bedding. Waterproof trousers and a good waterproof jacket are essential.

You will have your own berth (bed) in the main cabin which can sleep up to three people. The galley is also in this cabin so don’t expect too much privacy or luxury. I sleep in a seperate forward cabin. There is a seperate heads (toilet and sink).

You will be expected to help out with daily tasks such as cooking and cleaning as well as helping with the sailing and taking your turn on watch, this could be overnight when at sea.

If you love camping, you will love this, if you need luxury and a big comfy bed, you will hate it. I do not object to smoking but do ask you to only smoke on deck, not in the cabin. Vaping in the cabin is ok, I do it. Alcohol is only to be consumed at anchor or when tied to a Dock, never when under way.

I am a single male in my late 50s with a good sense of humour, very patient and a good planner. I was a driving instructor for nearly 15 years and a Scout leader for 25 years so I am good at explaining things. The boat is a 1965 camper Nicholson 32 with full safety equipment and updated electronics. Hot water is from a kettle but there is a fridge, toilet, sink, cooker, TV, media player etc. There is onboard WiFi but Internet availability is dependant on local mobile coverage.

Use my track me page to see where I am now. My current plan is to stay in the UK until safe to travel to the Mediterranean either late 2021 or early 2022. After a year or two in the med, I want to cross the Atlantic via the Canary Islands to the Bahamas and then beyond. Plans constantly change so contact me to find out more and so we can chat about availability and suitability.

Want to learn more? Get in touch!

%d bloggers like this: